Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4 comprises Grade 10 (Year 10) and Grade 11 (Year 11). Key Stage 5 comprises Grade 12 (Year 12) and Grade 13 (Year 13)

In Key Stages 4 and 5 MIS prepares students to write examinations set by the Cambridge International Examinations Board (CIE). These examinations are internationally recognized and are offered at three different levels. These are: the IGCSE Level (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) written at the end of Grade 11; the AS Level (Advanced Subsidiary Level) written at the end of Grade 12; and the A Level (Advanced Level) written at the end of Grade 13.

The curriculum on which these examinations are based is the British National Curriculum, slightly adapted to accommodate the needs of students from all over the world.

The IGCSE Course (Grades 10 and 11)

The IGCSE examination is written at the end of a two year course taught in Grade 10 and Grade 11. The students are expected to take at least eight subjects. Three of these are compulsory and five are optional. The compulsory subjects are: English (at 1st language or 2nd language level); either Portuguese or French (at 1st language or foreign language level); and Mathematics (at extended or core level). The remaining five subjects are the optional subjects which can be chosen from the following list: Accounting, Art and Design, Biology, Business Studies, Chemistry, Computer Studies, Design and Technology, Development Studies, Economics, Environmental Management, History, Music, Physical Education, Physics.

There is not a free choice of any five of the above. The subjects are arranged in five blocks. Students must choose one subject from each block including at least one science subject. The blocks are not the same every year but differ according to demand. The current option blocks operating in Grade 10 and Grade 11 (2011) are printed elsewhere on this site.

The students doing 1st language English all do English Literature as well. This is considered by Cambridge to be a separate subject and thus makes up a ninth subject for these students.

Most subjects are offered at two levels: extended and core. The extended level is the more challenging and academically orientated of the two. If a subject is taken at the extended level, the evaluation symbols awarded can range from an A* through to an E (which are regarded as passing symbols) or a U (ungraded – which is a failing symbol). At the core level a student may be awarded symbols ranging from a C through to a G (regarded as passing symbols at this level) or otherwise a U (fail).

In order to proceed to Grade 12 and the AS Level course at MIS we require a student to achieve at least five symbols of C or above.

About Us

The Maputo International School, founded in 1975, caters for the children of both expatriate and Mozambican families. We have the staff and facilities to offer a first class education from pre-school to pre-university.

Find out more →

From the blog

Get in touch

389 Rua da Nachingwea

(+258) 21 492131 / 21 492195

(+258) 823023130 / 843023130

Connect with us

Sign up to our newsletter: