Key Stage 4 comprises Grade 10 (Year 10) and Grade 11 (Year 11).

In Key Stage 4 MIS prepares students to write examinations set by the Cambridge International Examinations Board (CIE). This examination is internationally recognized, the IGCSE level (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) written at the end of Grade 11.

The curriculum on which this examination is based is the Cambridge International Curriculum, which is adapted to accommodate the needs of students from all over the world. The IGCSE Course (Grades 10 and 11) is a two year course.

Our students write the IGCSE in October-November, except for Portuguese exam which only takes place in May-June.

The students are expected to take at least eight subjects.

  • Three of which are compulsory and
  • Five are optional.

The compulsory subjects are: English (as a 1st Language, and Literature; or English as 2nd Language), Portuguese (as 1st Language or a foreign language), French or Chinese Mandarin, and Mathematics (at extended or core level).

  • English as 1st language OR
  • English as 2nd Language
  • Portuguese 1st Language OR
  • Portuguese as foreign Language OR
  • French OR
  • Chinese Mandarin
  • Mathematics extended OR
  • Mathematics Core

The remaining five subjects are the optional subjects that can be chosen from the following list: Accounting, Art and Design, Biology, Business Studies, Chemistry, Computer Studies, Design and Technology, Development Studies, Economics, Environmental Management, History, Music, Physical Education, Physics.

The compulsory subjects are grouped in five blocks. A Student must choose one subject from each block including at least one science subject.

Biology Business studies Physics Physics Biology
Chemistry Chemistry Design and Technology Business Studies Art and Design
Accounting Accounting History Environmental Management Development Studies
History Computer Science Physical Education Economics Computer Science

The blocks are not the same every year but might differ according to demand of the students’ selections.

The students doing 1st Language English will all do English Literature as well. Literature is considered by Cambridge to be a separate subject and thus makes up a 9th subject for these students.

Mathematics and Sciences subjects are offered at two levels: extended and core. The extended level is the more challenging and academically orientated and is meant for students who would wish to advance to grade 12 and take the subjects at AS-level. If a subject is taken at the extended level, the evaluation symbols awarded range from an A* through to an E (which are regarded as pass symbols) or a U (ungraded – which is a fail symbol). At the core level a student is awarded symbols ranging from a C through to a G (which are regarded as pass symbols) or otherwise a U (which is regarded as a fail symbol).

In order to proceed to Grade 12, the ASlevel course at MIS, we require a student to score at least five symbols of C.

Key Stage 4 Head

Philipe Monye

About Us

The Maputo International School, founded in 1976, caters for the children of both expatriate and Mozambican families.

Follow Us


Newsletter Subscription